The 41st Annual Sports Awards

19 March, 2023

Congratulations to Jah-Nhai Perinchief and Dame Flora Duffy, who were crowned the Male and Female Athletes of the Year earlier the 41st Annual Sports Awards last evening.

The event which took place at the Fairmont Hamilton Princess also awarded Sebastian Kempe (Sailing) and Caitlyn Bobb (Athletics) as the Junior Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

On hand to present the Athlete of the Year Awards was the Deputy Premier, Hon. Walter H. Roban, JP, MP.     

The Minister of Youth, Culture and Sport, Sen. Owen K. Darrell, JP., presented the “Minister’s Award” for Football and Cricket, with Macquille Walker and Jahni Simmons receiving the Football Award and Allan Douglas Jr. receiving the Cricket Award.

Dage Minors, Megan Troake, Erika Hawley, Sakari Famous, Oliver Betschart, Kallan Todd, Annabelle Miller, Finella Wightman, the Bermuda Men’s Davis Cup Team, Kelsie Wade the Women’s National Hockey and Volleyball Teams, and Arnold Manders were also among the recipients last night.

Minister Darrell said, “The Bermuda Sports Awards celebrated sports excellence last evening. We have witnessed some outstanding accomplishments in sports in 2022, so it's important to recognise that achievement at events such as this. I wish to congratulate all the award recipients and take this opportunity to thank them for providing us all with some amazing and inspirational sports performances over the past year.”

Appreciation Awards, Junior and Senior Achievement Awards, Special Achievement Award and the Sports Citation Award were also given out this evening.