Minister Foggo Congratulates Mini-Cup Match Victors

Friday, July 26th, 2019

Congratulations to the St. George’s cricket team who were the victors of today’s 23rd Annual Mini Cup Match. The score was 131-109.


Each year, the Department of Youth, Sports and Recreation host the Mini Cup Match to celebrate the upcoming national holiday, and to ensure that the young people learn the importance of teamwork, sportsmanship and camaraderie. The event was held at the Devonshire Recreation and featured young people from the Bermuda Government’s Summer Day Camps.


Sports Minister Lovitta Foggo stopped by Devonshire Rec this morning to extend her support to both cricket teams. The event was also well attended by parents, Youth and Sports staff and other well-wishers.


St. George’s were first up to bat and after their allotted 20 overs. Following the lunch break the Somerset team took to the pitch.


After four (4) long hours, the teams battled it to the end and St. George’s managed a 131-109 victory.


Minister Foggo said this afternoon, “Both teams should feel proud of their performance today. Each of our young cricketers played hard today, and in my view, they are all winners. They demonstrated the teamwork and sportsmanship that our Annual Cup Match Classic is known for. But quite simply, they just had good plain fun, which is what they should be doing at their young age. So, I want to commend all of our Summer Day Camp teachers and support staff for helping to make this a memorable day for our young people. Well done to St. George’s.”


Below is the line-up of St. George’s and Somerset campers who participated in this year’s Mini Cup Match:


St. George’s

Zamir Tucker

Sailahn Martin

Zaki Gibbons

Armani Smith

Priyah Denbrook

Muryah Swan

Keith Richardson

Treazi Gibbons

Keshav Butler

Jah-ty Talbot

Csayian Burns

Xy-unn Simmons

Romari Ruddock

Ryan Place-Gill

Coaches:  Xyon Outerbridge and Dequan Lodge



Skylar Crockwell

Jahsai Bean-Joell

Kieshaun Gibbons-Johnsal

Logan Chadwick

Shuaib Worrell

Zephaniah Demello

Max Lightbourn

Ny-Sir Bremiage

Isaiah Trott

Macario Correia

Zephaniah Talbot

Torano Young

Coaches:  Moziah Selassie, Stafari Burrows, and Chevone Armstrong


Special recognition goes to Shuaib Worrell and Keshav Butler for Best Batsmen, Logan Chadwick and Zaki Gibbons for Best Bowler, and Torano Young and Armani Smith for Best Fielder.