• The Department of Public transportation has advised that the DPT Kiosk at Central Terminal in Hamilton will be closed all day on Sunday, February 25th due to construction work being carried out on the building. 


  • The Ministry of Health is seeking your views on the proposed Sugar Tax and changes to the Mental Health Act. You will find the consultation documents and online feedback forms here.

Minister's New Scholarships and Awards Committee

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Today, the Minister of Education, the Hon. N. H. Cole Simons JP, MP is pleased to announce a scholarships and awards committee to oversee the selection process and recommend recipients for the Ministry of Education's new offerings of scholarships and awards.

Minister Simons stated: "As promised in the 2016 Speech from the Throne, we have diversified and increased the Ministry's offering of scholarship and award opportunities for students who pursue post-secondary educational studies locally or overseas. These new opportunities will provide our students with the opportunity to share their creativity, innovation, talent, determination, and leadership skills and abilities. The majority of the scholarships and awards are also based on financial need."

The Committee is chaired by retired educator and Bermuda College Board member, Mrs. Romelle Warner. She is ably assisted by:

Mr. Zayne Bean
Dr. Alick Bush
Ms. Cherie Dill
Dr. Patricia Dill-Chapman
Mrs. Tina Duke
Mr. Sean Dunkley
Dr. Julie Dunstan
Mr. Gershon Gibbons
Ms. Sharmaine Landy
Ms. Kelly Madeiros
Ms. Amanda Outerbridge
Mr. Noel Pearman
Ms. Kellianne Smith
Mr. Clyde Symonds
Dr. Radell Tankard

The Committee members were chosen as a result of their commitment to education and young people, as well as their significant professional expertise and community involvement.

Members of the public may recall that the new scholarships and awards include, the:

  • Minister's Achievement Scholarships for graduating public school students;
  • Minister's Merit Scholarships for graduating senior school students;
  • Minister's Technical and Vocational Awards for graduating public school students or recent public school alumni attending Bermuda College with an interest in technical and vocational studies; and, the
  • Minister's Exceptional Student Awards for graduating students or school leavers with disabilities.

The Minister's Achievement Scholarships and Minister's Merit Scholarships are valued at $25,000 for overseas education. The Minister's Technical and Vocational Awards and the Minister's Exceptional Student Awards are valued at $25,000 for overseas study and $5,000 for local study.

Minister Simons added: "I would like to thank Mrs. Romelle Warner and all other committee members for providing an important service on behalf of Bermuda's young people. Their contribution in bringing these new and diverse scholarships and awards to life will be a long-lasting contribution for our young people; as well as an investment in Bermuda's social development and capital."

The work of the new Committee is short-term and the successful scholarship and awards recipients are expected to be announced in July.