Archived - This item was archived and will not be updated.

Immigration Working Group Names Announced

Monday, April 11th, 2016

The Government and community representatives seeking consultation on Immigration Reform are pleased to announce the following ten persons who will form the Immigration Working Group tasked with reviewing and proposing amendments to the Bermuda Immigration and Protection Act 1956. 

  1. Mr. William Madeiros (Chairman) 
  2. Ms. Belinda Wright
  3. Mr. Marc Pettingill, JP, MP
  4. Mr. Warren Jones 
  5. Mr. Dennis Fagundo 
  6. Mr. Walton Brown, JP, MP 
  7. Ms. Crystal Caesar, JP 
  8. Mr. Rick Woolridge 
  9. Ms. Lynne Winfield 
  10. Ms. Malika Musson 

Both Government and the representatives are pleased with the collaborative approach that has been undertaken over the past few weeks - with the end result being a Working Group that represents a good cross section of the community. 

The Working Group will begin its work and will announce shortly their Terms of Reference which will form their approach as to how the consultative process will work. This should include the collection of public submissions, consultation with the wider public and stakeholder groups, amongst other things to ensure a balanced approach to arriving at sound policy recommendations. 

The public will be kept informed of the recommendations as part of the ongoing communications process. 

Both Government and the representatives want to thank the public for their patience as we understand this is a very important issue.