Physical Address:
Corner House
4th Floor, 20 Parliament Street

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box HM 101
Hamilton HM AX

Telephone: 441.292.4595
Fax: 441.295.1462

  Mission Statement 

The mission of the Energy Commission is to assist in the development and maintenance of affordable, clean and sustainable energy, for the economic, social and environmental well-being of residents and businesses in Bermuda.


As required by the Energy Act 2009, an Energy Commission was appointed by the Minister of Energy, Telecommunications and E-Commerce in November 2009. The Commission consists of a chairman and four other members, though an additional member may be appointed to assist in an inquiry by the Commission if their expertise/experience is required. Members are appointed for a period of three years.

Purpose of the Commission 

As required by the Energy Act 2009, the Commission meets twice a month and their primary duties are to:

  • Review, and subsequently approve or disallow variations to the price or charge for electrical power submitted to the Commission by a specified businesses;
  • Set out the terms and conditions under which a specified business may make a variation to the price or charge for electrical power;
  • Conduct inquiries into the price or charge made for any energy-related commodity;
  • Conduct inquiries into other matters concerning the cost or supply of any energy-related commodity;
  • Conduct inquiries into any matter which may affect the exercise of the Minister's powers under the Energy Act 2009; and
  • Advise the Minister in the discharge of the Minister's functions under the Energy Act 2009.

The Energy Commission publishes its decisions on this website and may be contacted at the address provided on this page.

Members of the Energy Commission

Mr. E. Michael Leverock (Chairman)
Mr. Kent Stewart (Deputy Chairman)
Mrs. Leslie Rans
Mrs. Angela Berry
Mr. Colin Smith
Director of Energy (ex officio)